Florida Statute on CPS Updated January 1, 2015
Children through age 5 will be required to be transported safely in child restraints as of January 1, 2015.
Governor Scott signed a bill in June to put have Florida Statute 316.613 updated to state: if the child is 5 years of age or younger, provide for protection of the child by properly using a crash-tested, federally approved child restraint device. Only children through age 3 had to be in child restraints formerly. The statute does provide exceptions.
View Florida Statute 316.613 which already includes the updated language.
What does it mean to properly provide protection using a child restraint? There is a plethora of information on the subject of using child restraints, some including age and weight figures. These are recommendations from professionals on the best, most safety way to protect your child, but what will law enforcement use? To properly use a child restraint, read the labels and manual on your child’s restraint and use it according to the manufacturer’s requirements for that seat.
Not using your child's restraint as required by the seat manufacturer will result in a receiving
- A moving violation
- 3 points on driver's license
- Minimum $60 fine plus court costs and fees
All seats have slightly different usage requirements, which is why improper restraint usage is such a problem. Download the Florida CPS Law Update Tip Cards on how to choose the best car seat for your child, as well as installation tips, then visit a fitting station near you for assistance on installation.